MFG Women

Expand all | Collapse all

Building a Support SySTEM

• 1.  Building a Support SySTEM

Posted 08-06-2018 09:29

Experience of Community

Hello all. My name is Theresa Rogers and I am a rising sophomore studying mechanical engineering at the University of Notre Dame. One of the most influential factors leading me to pursue a STEM degree has been my participation in organizations dedicated to female empowerment. Because I attended an all-girls high school, I was consistently offered leadership opportunities through my science and math classes. For example, during my junior year of high school, I was able to attend a STEM symposium at Georgetown University. Here, I was exposed to the fascinating work of top area researchers in biology, science, physics, and engineering. I was also given the chance to compete in a state-wide physics competition, which introduced me to the engineering design process. Attending a single-sex school afforded me an environment where I could explore STEM fields confidently through hands on experiences like these. My teachers in the science and math departments also worked tirelessly to remind my classmates and I of our tremendous potential as females in STEM. Having this supportive background has continued to fuel my motivation to stick with my intended engineering major in college.

Expansion of Interest